Sunday, April 13, 2008


Mwai Kibaki announced the cabinet on April 13th, 2008.

Mr Kibaki called for politics to be set aside and real work to start, while announcing the new power-sharing cabinet following a deal that the two brokered during the latest secrete meeting at sagana lodge to end the long-running political crisis.

Kibaki officially named Raila Odinga as the new prime minister, after the pair agreed the deal on Saturday in their secret talks.

The crisis was sparked by presidential elections in December that triggered violence in which over 3,500 people died and more than 600,000 displaced.

The deal overcame a row over how the cabinet posts would be divided.

Local and international pressure:

Mr Kibaki said in a live televised speech alongside Mr Odinga: "My challenge to the new cabinet members and the entire national leadership at all levels is: let us put politics aside and get to work."As both the local and international pressure pilled on the two leaders.


Office of the Prime Minister:

Prime Minister: Raila Amollo Odinga
Assistant Minister: Alfred Khang’ati

Office of Vice-President and Home Affairs:

Vice President and Minister for Home Affairs:Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka
Assistant Minister: Lorna Laboso

Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of Local Government:

Deputy PM and Minister for Local Government: Wycliffe Musalia Mudavadi
Assistant Minister: Robison Njeru Githae

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for trade:Uhuru Kenyatta
Assistant Minister: James Omingo Magara

Kibaki added: "Let us build a new Kenya where justice is our shield and defender, and where peace, liberty and plenty will be found throughout our country."

Two deputy prime ministers were named - Uhuru Kenyatta of Mr Kibaki's Party of National Unity and Musalia Mudavadi of Mr Odinga's Orange Democratic Movement.

Finance Minister Amos Kimunya retained his post and the ODM's William Ruto becomes agriculture minister.

A total of 40 posts were named in an even split between ODM and the PNU and its allies.

Even though Kenyans had protested and argued the country could not afford so many posts with the looming food crisis and future socio-economic appearing bleak as over 600,000 people are still displaced while more than 3,500 lost their lives, the kibaki train took no such notice and stuffed a bloated cabinet nonetheless.

It is also clear that, with the exception of local government the key posts remain with PNU's close followers.

Although its apparent that the cabinet appeared unreasonably large, Kibaki said, many Kenyans will breath a collective sigh of relief that perhaps the country can now move forward.

It is understood that the cabinet will work on framing a new constitution over the next year that will tackle long-standing grievances over land, wealth and power.

The two leaders had come under intense international pressure to achieve a breakthrough.

The deal on power-sharing had been brokered by former UN secretary general Kofi Annan in February and a cabinet was scheduled to be announced on 6 April.

But the talks seemed to break down this week as Mr Odinga held out for the 50-50 split in cabinet posts following the signed accord.

The country,needless to say is still on a cliff hanger given the over 3,500 who died and more than 600,000 who were displaced during the election crisis. Many thousands have yet to return to their homes.

Full Cabinet list:

1)Ministry of State for Provincial Administration and Internal Security

Minister: Prof George Saitoti
Assistant Ministers: Simon Lesirma and Joshua Orwa Ojode

2)Ministry of State for Defence

Minister: Yusuf Haji
Assistant Ministers: David Musila and Joseph Nkaisserry

3)Ministry of State for Immigration and Registration of Persons

Minister: Gerald Otieno Kajwang’
Assistant Minister: Francis Baya

4)Ministry of State for National Heritage & Culture:

Minister: William ole Ntimama
Assistant Minister: Joel Onyancha Omagwa

5)Ministry of State for Planning, National Development and Vision 2030:

Minister: Wycliffe Ambetsa Oparanya
Assistant Minister: Peter Kenneth

6)Ministry of State for Public Service:

Minister: Dalmas Anyango Otieno
Assistant Minister: Aden Ahmed Sugow

7)Office of Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of Trade:

9)Ministry of East African Community

Minister: Amason Kingi Jeffah
Assistant Minister: Peter Munya

10)Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Minister: Moses Wetangula
Assistant Minister: Richard Momoima Onyonka

11)Ministry of Finance

Minister: Amos Kimunya
Assistant Minister: Dr. Oburu Oginga

12)Ministry of Justice, National Cohesion and Constitutional Affairs
Minister: Martha Karua
Assistant Minister: William Cheptumo Kipkorir

13)Ministry of Nairobi Metropolitan Development

Minister: Mutula Kilonzo
Assistant Minister: Elizabeth Ongoro Masha

14)Ministry of Roads

Minister: Kipkalya Kones
Assistant Ministers: Wilfred Machage and Lee Kinyanjui

15)Ministry of Public Works

Minister: Chris Obure
Assistant Minister: Dickson Wathika Mwangi

16)Ministry of Transport

Minister: Chirau Ali Makwere
Assistant Minister: John Harun Mwau

17)Ministry of Water and Irrigation

Minister: Charity Kaluki Ngilu
Assistant Minister: Mwangi Kiunjuri

18)Ministry of Regional Development Authorities

Minister: Fredrick Omulo Gumo
Assistant Minister: Judah Katoo ole Metito

19)Ministry of Information & Communications

Minister: Samuel Poghisio
Assistant Ministers: George Munyasa Khaniri and Dhadho Godhana

20)Ministry of Energy

Minister: Kiraitu Murungi
Assistant Ministers: Charles Keter and Maalim Mohamud Mohamed

21)Ministry of Lands

Minister: Aggrey James Orengo
Assistant Ministers: Silvester Wakoli Bifwoli and Samwel Gonzi Rai

22)Ministry of Environment and Mineral Resources

Minister: John Michuki
Assistant Ministers: Ramadhan Seif Kajembe and Jackson Kiplagati Kiptanui

23)Ministry of Forestry and Wildlife

Minister: Noah Wekesa
Assistant Minister: Josphat Koli Nanok

24)Ministry of Tourism

Minister: Mohamed Najib Balala
Assistant Minister: Cecily Mtito Mbarire

25)Ministry of Agriculture

Minister: William Samoei Ruto
Assistant Ministers: Japhet Kareke Mbiuki and Gideon Musyoka Ndambuki

26)Ministry of Livestock Development

Minister: Mohamed Abdi Kuti
Assistant Minister: Bare Aden Duale

27)Ministry of Fisheries Development

Minister: Paul Nyongesa Otuoma
Assistant Minister: Mohamed Abu Abuchiaba

28)Ministry of Development of Northern Kenya and other Arid Lands

Minister: Ibrahim Elmi Mohamed
Assistant Minister: Hussein Tarry Sasura

29)Ministry of Cooperatives Development

Minister: Joseph Nyagah
Assistant Minister: Linah Jebii Kilimo

30)Ministry of Industrialisation

Minister: Henry Kiprono Kosgey
Assistant Minister: Ndiritu Murithi

31)Ministry of Housing

Minister: Peter Soita Shitanda
Assistant Minister: Bishop Margaret Wanjiru Kariuki

32)Ministry of Special Programmes

Minister: Dr. Naomi Namsi Shabani
Assistant Minister: Mohamed Muhamud Ali

33)Ministry of Gender and Children Affairs

Minister: Esther Murugi Mathenge
Assistant Minister Atanas Manyala Keya

34)Ministry of Public Health and Sanitation

Minister: Beth Wambui Mugo
Assistant Minister: Dr. James Ondicho Gesami

35)Ministry of Medical Services

Minister: Prof. Peter Anyang’ Nyong’o
Assistant Minister: Danson Buya Mungatana

36)Ministry of Labour

Minister: John Kiyonga Munyes
Assistant Minister: Sospeter Ojamaa Ojamong’

37)Ministry of Youth and Sports

Minister: Dr. Helen Jepkemoi Sambili
Assistant Ministers: Wavinya Ndeti and Kabando wa Kabando

38)Ministry of Education

Minister: Samson Kegeo Ongeri
Assistant Ministers: Prof. Patrick Ayiecho Olweny and Andrew Calist Mwatela

39)Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology

Minister: Dr. Sally Jepngetich Kosgey
Assistant Ministers: Kilemi Mweria and Asman Abongotum Kamama

40)Office of the Attorney General
Attorney General: Amos Wako

No comments: